Summer doctoral school (2019): Religion and atheism in pluralist societies”


Call for Papers


Summer doctoral school

“Religion and atheism in pluralist societies”


Nantes, 17-19 June 2019

The Institut du pluralisme religieux et de l’athéisme (IPRA ; is organizing a summer school on religion and atheism in pluralist societies. We seek to bring together doctoral students in different disciplines (history, religious studies, sociology, law, art history, anthropology, etc.). Presentations may be given in English or in French. Participants should be able to understand both languages. We seek in particular to bring together doctoral students from Iran, France, other European countries and the USA.



The summer school is open to doctoral students enrolled in any country, in any discipline, as long as their dissertation subject, and the proposed talk, are related to the theme of the summer school.



The summer school will be financed by IPRA and the University of Nantes and will be free of cost to the students accepted. Participants will be lodged in student housing at no cost. Lunch will be provided free to participants. Travel to Nantes will not be paid by IPRA, and participants should seek funding from their home institutions.



The summer school will take place 17-19 June 2019. Doctoral students will each make a 20-minute presentation; faculty from IPRA and other partner institutions will chair the panels and give their reactions to student presentations.


Submission guidelines

Proposals for a 20-minute paper may be submitted, by September 15, 2018, to Proposals may be in English or in French and should consist of:

  1. A .doc file containing:
  2. full name and affiliation of the doctoral student
  3. title for the proposed communication.
  4. an abstract (200-500 words) of the communication
  5. a list of 5-10 keywords
  6. A CV


Approval and confirmation

The organizational committee will confirm receipt of each proposition and will respond by November 30, 2018. A draft of the paper should be sent by March 15, 2019 to permit pre-circulation among the participants.


Organizational committee:

Céline Borello, IPRA, Le Mans Université

John Tolan, IPRA, Université de Nantes

Anna Christophe, IPRA, Le Mans Université


Programme committee:

Dominique Avon, Ecole Pratique de Hautes Etudes

Céline Borello, IPRA, Le Mans Université

Pedram Khosronejad, Oklahoma State University

Asghar Montazerolghaem, University of Isfahan

Jafar Morvarid, University of Mashhad

Philippe Portier, Ecole Pratique de Hautes Etudes

John Tolan, IPRA, Université de Nantes

Cécile Vanderpelen, Université Libre de Bruxelles


This summer school is organized by the Institute of religious pluralism and atheism (IPRA) and is supported by:


Share Button

You may also like...